top of page
Search

CONNECTING THE DOTS

Updated: Nov 9, 2020

True Life Story!



I have realized that there are certain factors that have contributed immensely in shaping my thoughts, views and personality and in my pursuit for unparalleled success. Drawing inspirations from these factors: struggles, adversities, experiences, family values and morals, have been a source of strength in having an unwavering commitments towards accomplishing my career goals and giving back to the community. As a Nigerian enrolled into a free public school where I completed elementary and secondary education. Growing up in a multi-ethnic city, I witnessed the tribal violence that engulfed and turned the city that I once called home into a jungle. Confined to my own world and living every day as if it were my last, all that I sought after was finding and pursuing true happiness: achieving my dreams. Art was the key to unlocking my life's purpose, provided answers to many questions that I had and I resorted to it as a source to get away from the adversities and violence that centered around my childhood days.

During my secondary education, I fell in love with the revolutionizing power of Art from literature texts; utilizing its concepts in classroom experiments and in solving real problems. Art provided plausible explanations of laid knowledge, refined methodologies to solve complex problems and ideas that can be built upon to create or improve existing innovations through critical thinking. This originality spurred my curiosity for Art and reinstated the importance of quality education. Having cognition of the value of schooling increased my dedication and commitment towards my studies and my aptitude for learning. Being aware of my financial status that would have limited my chances of acquiring a degree upon graduating among the top five students in secondary school , I sought out other opportunities to fund college education. I learnt, studied and took the Shell Petroleum Development (SPDC) Scholarship that enabled me to fund my education at the University of Port Harcourt, located in Nigeria.


Studying Linguistics and Communication, I have demonstrated achievements in academics, leadership, community service engagements and academic research activities. I have served as the president of Press/ICT Community Development Service, University of Port Harcourt Press LTD, Nigerian Red Cross Society, Chartered Institute of Customer Relationship Management, University of Port Harcourt Students Union Government. I spurred the chapter's mission to reduce students' dropout rates by organizing tutoring sessions and career workshops at both the University and NGOs. I created "Quality Education" blog and mentorship program that provided most high school students the opportunity to learn and apply fundamental art and volunteering activities concepts to render essential selfless services to the less privileged ones in the society.

Deriving a valuable experience and a positive outcome from their collaborative efforts and contributions in the program, they felt empowered, developed a curiosity for education and skills acquisition, and nurtured a passion to accomplish their aspirations. Also, I have been able to hone my technical skills from engaging in research activities in areas of quality education.

My journey towards becoming a Media/Communication personnel wouldn't have been possible if not for hard work, dedication that enabled me to acquire scholarship supports. Upon achieving a successful career, my long term goal is to establish an institution that will provide an opportunity for the less privileged children, who cannot afford the cost of education, to gain prowess through technical entrepreneurship program. Upon completion of the program requirements and duration, they will obtain a license to start up a business and also, gain equal opportunity in the workforce industry. This program will assist in increasing independency, reducing illiteracy and improve the quality of life across the globe. Overcoming adversities and the fear of failure in life unleashed and strengthened my abilities, qualities, and development, but most especially, enabled my understanding of life's bigger picture.




20 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comments


Post: Blog2 Post
bottom of page